The name has uncertain origins, and probably derives from Ugone, one of the Lombard dukes of Spoleto. Municipality in the province of Terni, located on a hill completely surrounded by a green environment on the border of the territory of the provincial capital and the region of Lazio, the village of Stroncone is characterized by the presence of winding staircases covered with pebbles, arches, doorways and tall fortified boundary walls, in which open ancient gateways.
The first document, that reports the presence of the center, dates back to 1012, when it was founded by populations that previously settled in the valley, on the top of a hill which, at the time, seemed to a safer place to live in. The special position occupied between the territories of the Byzantine Empire and the Duchy of Spoleto, made it a center of strategic importance. In the XI century, the village was submitted to the monastery of Farfa, while in the early XIII century, it suffered serious damage by colliding with the troops that supported the municipality of Narni. Promptly rebuilt thanks to the intervention of Pope Innocent III, in clashes between the Guelphs and Ghibellines, it sided with the former.
At the end of the XIV century, Stroncone was conquered by Pandolfo Malatesta and a few years later, it was prey of the Tomacelli. At the end of the XVI century the village submitted the direct control of the Camera Apostolica. Conquered by Napoleon's troops, it was raided and sacked. Annexed to the Kingdom of Italy in 1929, Stroncone became a district of Terni, until in 1947 it regained its lost autonomy and was proclaimed municipality.
- the Oratory of St. John the Beheaded, which preserves within frescoes of the first half of the XV century, depicting the Saint, artwork of the artist Bastiani, and an altarpiece by the same author. The vault is richly decorated with stucco decorations;
- the Church of San Michele Arcangelo, built around year 1000, it contains a fine wooden choir and a XIV century wooden Cross;
- the Convent of San Francesco. In a chapel of the church there is a XVI century tempera painting of a pupil of the Pinturicchio;
- the Church of St. Nicholas with its beautiful decorated gate, built in 1171, preserves inside a XVI century altarpiece attributed to Rinaldo Calvi;
- the mid XII century Church of Our Lady of the Snows;
- the Church of San Filippo built in the XVII century;
- the Church of the Virgin of the Banner;
- the XIV century Palace of Vici;
- the XV century Palazzo dei Priori;
- the Fountain of 1559