It is a town in the province of Frosinone, located between the hills east of the Liri Valley. The town's name, derives from the Latin words "arx" (fortress) or "Arcanum" (the name of the mountain on which the first settlement was built, that appeared for the first time in a document of the VII century A.D.) Although in the district of Fontanelle traces of an unequivocal hominid settlement dating back to 700,000 years ago have been brought to the light, much more significant findings are from the Roman Ages. During the period of their Empire, in 328 B.C., here established the Latin colony of Fregellae, that in 125 B.C. was completely destroyed, because its inhabitants rebelled against the power of Rome. The existence in the area of a fund called "Arcanum" already appears in some of Cicerone's letters, sent to his brother Quinto and his friend Pomponius Atticus. In 702 A.D. , the town was subtracted from the Eastern Empire by the Lombard Duke of Benevento, Gisulfo I, and in 850 it became part of the Lombard principality of Capua. Sacked by the Saracens and the Hungarians, Arce was ceded to the monks of the Monastery of Cassino, who ruled until 1058, when it fell into the hands of Normans. In 1265 it passed to the D ' Anjou, that ceded it in fief to the Cantelmo at first and later to the Della Rovere. In 1796 it was incorporated into the Kingdom of Naples.
Sites of Interest:
- the Archaeological Site of Fregellae. the ancient Roman colony founded in 328 B.C. and destroyed in 125 B.C. by order of the Roman Senate, due to its rebellion;
- the Boundary Stones, which delimited the Papal States and the Kingdom of Naples;
- the Tower of Sant'Eleuterio (also known as the Toll tower or Saracen tower), in the past, it served as a control function of the traffic on the river Liri;
- the Church of Saints Peter and Paul, built between 1702 and 1744 in Baroque style with fine stucco decorations. The imposing façade is flanked by two towers: the first with a clock (1819) and the second with a meridian (1955). Inside are preserved the relics of Sant'Eleuterio;
- the small Church of St. Augustine, in pre-Romanesque style;
- the beautiful Church of Our Lady of Sorrows, which houses a precious wooden crucifix;
- the Church of Sant'Eleuterio, built where the patron Saint of Arce was buried. It features a three nave plan covered by wood.