It is one of the most important centers of the province of Frosinone, located between the Valleys of the Liri, of Comino and of Roveto. Founded originally by the Volsci, the town was conquered by the Romans, with who it shared the fate and same historical events, until the fall of the Empire. Subsequently the area submitted the invasions of the Barbarians (Lombards, Byzantines, Saracens and Hungarians) and, during the XII century, it was the scenario of clashes between the Papal States and the Normans. Incorporated into the Kingdom of Naples, in 1443 it was proclaimed as a Duchy. Over the following centuries, Sora submitted the domain of several noble families: Tomacelli, Cantelmi, Della Rovere and Boncompagni. At the end of the XVIII century, the town was the scene of ferocious acts of brigandage.
Sites of Interest:
- the Castle of San Casto and Cassius, a fortress in Renaissance style, located on Mount San Casto, strategically located between the region of Abruzzo and the Valley of the river Liri. Built in 1520 by Evangelista Carrara of Bergamo, it features a rectangular plan with six different shaped towers, between round, square and polygonal. In the foundations are still visible the remains of the Roman fort (the famous "arx", already documented by Titus Livius) and those of a previous building of the Middle Ages;
- the Megalithic Walls of the IV century B.C.;
- the Aragon Tower;
- the Marmone Bridge (I century B.C.);
- the Border Stones between the Papal States and the Kingdom of Naples;
- the Cathedral of Santa Maria Assunta, located on a high base, in a primitive Gothic style. It features three naves and a magnificent coffered ceiling with rosettes of gold, which, unfortunately, was destroyed during a fire between the nights of January 12th and 13th 1916;
- the Church of Santa Restituta, completely rebuilt after the earthquake of 1915;
- the Abbey of St. Dominic, built on the ruins of the villa of Cicero's father. Founded in 1011, it is one of the oldest religious buildings of Sora. The complex features the Church, the Bell Tower, the Cemetery and the Cloister, to which several buildings are connected. Today the Abbey presents a sober facade, with three portal entrances and a beautiful rose window. Particular suggestion is given by the crypt, as traditions narrate of the death of San Domenico, right next to one of these columns (not identified), laid on a bed of ashes, a typical Benedictine use. In the altar of the crypt, a gift of Clement XI in 1706, houses the sacred relics of the saint, who died in 1031, of old age;
- the rural Sanctuary of Rava Rossa.