A small town in the province of Frosinone, "Bellus Mons" stands on a rocky spur between the Valle of Comino and the Cassinate. Although in the area, there have been found some tombstones with Latin inscriptions, more substantial and documented details of the existence of the village go back to year 1000: in fact, in 990 it was assigned to the Duchy of Capua, after which it submitted, over the centuries, the rule of several noble Families, such as: the Aquinas, the Cantelmo, the Carafa, the Borgias, the Navarro, the Cardona, the Laudato and the Gallio.
District of Casale di Atina until 1819 and, subsequently, assigned to Terelle, the town gained its self-government only in 1851. Severely damaged by earthquakes and destroyed during the Second World War, the town was quickly rebuilt by its inhabitants.
Sites of Interest:
- the Church of St. Nicholas, an ancient plebeian rural church, probably built in the XII century and features inside XIV century frescoes;
- the XV century Church of Santa Maria, altered several times over the centuries;
- the remains of the Church of San Benedetto de Chio, an ancient Benedictine monastery which belonged to the Monastery of Monte Cassino;
- the remains of the massive fortified walls, with three gateway entrances and a tall medieval tower. The castle, however, was destroyed during the bombing of the Second World War;
- the remains of a Roman aqueduct in the district of Costa Campopiano;
- the "fosse", a series of karst elements of the ground, that gave birth to two pits in the districts of Capodivalle and Vaccareccia.