Hilly town in the province of Ancona, located along the scope of Mount Cischiano, overlooking the whole valley of Misa, Arcevia is one of the most important towns in Marche's hinterland for its historical and architectural heritage. Many important prehistoric remains, dating from the Paleolithic period, were found here, such as settlements, huts and ditches, artifacts and stone, bone and metal objects. A necropolis of Gallic origin (IV-II century BC), with its funeral equipment, was found in Montefortino d'Arcevia.
According to a well-established tradition, Arcevia was founded by Senoni Gauls, founders of nearby Senigallia. Fortified by King Pipino, later it was donated to the State of the Church. During the Middle Ages it played an important role, due to its strategic position: about 40 castle and many other villages were subjected to Arcevia's laws and many of the most powerful families in Italy were Arcevia's citizens. The current name was acquired only in 1817: until that moment, in fact, it was known as Rocca Contrada, probably referring to the first landowner of this land (Corrado or Contrado), as it is possible to read in a document of 1147.
- the town walls (XIII-XVI century), with towers and four of the original five gates (Porta Romana, Porta Sant'Agostino, Porta del Sasso and Porta Santa Lucia);
- the ten castles of the town (Avacelli, Castiglioni, Caudino, Loretello, Montale, Palazzo, Nidastore, Piticchio, San Pietro and Arcevia);
- the Collegiate Church of St. Medard, documented since 1208, is named after the bishop of St. Quentin, much revered in France. The current building was projected by the architect Michele Buti in the XVII century. It has a two ordered brick façade and a single aisle where it is possible to admire masterpieces of great value, such as Christ's Baptism and St. Medard Altarpiece by Luca Signorelli, the altar-frontal of glazed terracotta by Giovanni Della Robbia, precious XVII century wooden furniture and paintings by Ercole Ramazzini, Claudio Ridolfi il Veronese, Simone Cantarini il Pesarese, Piergentile da Materica and Venanzio da Camerino.
- the Church of Santa Maria del Soccorso, built in the XVI century by the Augustinian Fathers;
- the complex of San Francesco, documented since the XIII century, with Baroque-style church, a Romanesque portal and a XV century cloister;
- the Church of San Francesco di Paola, in baroque style, with a beautiful dome;
- the Sanctuary of Madonna delle Grazie (XV century), on Sant'Angelo Mount;
- the Church of Madonna dei Renali (XVI century);
- the Church of Sant'Agata (first half of XVIII century), with octagonal plant;
- the Church of San Giovanni Battista (XIII century);
- Palazzo Comunale (1259);
- Palazzo Monelli, later Pianetti (XIII century);
- Palazzo dei Priori (XIV century);
- Palazzo della Duchessa (XVIII century), Livia dalla Rovere's summer residence;
- Palazzo Anselmi;
- the Archaeological Museum;
- Leopardi's garden, where it is possible to enjoy a wonderful view of the Marche's Apennines.