According to the best historic hypothesis, the town's name derives from the presence, once upon a time, of numerous swamps in the area. Municipality in the province of Pesaro-Urbino, where the two rivers of Burano and Candigliano meet, near the Gorge Furlo, characterized by white and pink limestone, the area offers an extensive network of trails, ideal for trekking, from where it is possible to admire the Apennine fauna. It is famous for the production and sale of truffles and the processing of the Furlo stone.
The first settlement was built in the area in Roman times under the name "Pitinum Mergens" and was later destroyed by the troops of Alaric. The inhabitants who survived the attacks enemies founded a castle for defensive purposes and around it developed the village of Acqualagna. The town became part of the Duchy of Urbino, with whom it shared fate and historical events over the centuries.
- the Church of Saint Lucia of ancient origins has submitted several renovations over the centuries. It has a single nave plan with six niches, frescoed in the XVI century;
- the Sanctuary of Pelingo, built in 1820, features a famous fresco depicting the Madonna and Child, an icon of great devotion;
- the Church of the Annunciation in Petriccio has an arched portico and XIV century frescoes;
- the ancient Abbey of San Vincenzo al Furlo, built in the VIII century, was home in the XI century of two saints: St. Romualdo and St. Pier Damiani. The building is the result of a refurbishment of the 1271, in Romanesque style and features a single nave plan and a crypt with a IX century altar and valuable and ancient capitals;
- Villa of Colombara, which is a farmhouse built during the Roman times in the II century B.C.;
- the small Roman bridge near the Abbey of San Vincenzo;
- the XI century Castle of Pietralata.