The name refers to the mighty fortifications (walls and castle with its 17 ramparts) which were built to defend the city after the long and devastating siege of Perugia in 1319.
Municipality in the province of Perugia, located between the plains on the left bank of the river Chiascio, in the Umbrian Valley, wherein addition to Chiascio flows also the stream Tescio.
Of ancient origins, the archaeological remains evidence that Bastia was already a settlement in Roman times. Documented information attests that in the XI century, the area was flooded by the waters of the nearby river, that transformed the territories into a large marshland, from which emerged only a small island. In the Middle Ages, the city was for a long while contended between Perugia and Assisi. Allied to the latter, in the first half of the XIV century, Bastia was besieged and devastated by the troops of Perugia, but shortly after new and more powerful fortifications were built. At the end of the XIV century, the city submitted the domain of the noble Michelotti of Perugia and twenty years later it was conquered by Braccio da Montone. In 1431 it suffered the rule of the Baglioni, later ceded to Filippo Boncompagni, until it became part of the Papal States.
- the Church of the Holy Cross, founded by the Franciscans in 1295, features a smooth two-tone stone façade of Mount Subasio, interrupted by a rose window and a portal with a lunette painted by the artist Bruschi and gable roof. The interior features a single nave plan with Gothic style frescoes and paintings by the Umbrian school. The Bell tower, of a later period, was designed by the Antonelli.
- the early XVI century Church of San Rocco, which preserves a banner with the coats of arms of Doni and a more contemporary one of Bernardino di Mariotto, a XVI century statue of San Rocco;
- the Church of Sant'Angelo, of ancient foundation, is the oldest church in the city, located inside the castle. It has been object of restoration in the XV century and features a single nave plan;
- the Church of San Paolo of Abbadesses, built between the XI and XII centuries, features a single nave plan with a semicircular apse and a Bell Tower;
- the Church of San Michele Arcangelo, built to replace two smaller places of worship, previously built in the early XX century;
- the Fortress of the Baglioni;
- Porta Sant'Angelo.
- the remains of the walls.
- the Castle.