The town's name seems to derive from the abundance of reed wetland in the river that flows in the nearby. Municipality in the province of Perugia, located on a plain, on the left bank of the river Topino in the middle of the Umbrian Valley, the historical center of Cannara is rich history and features beautiful and ancient churches and is still surrounded by medieval walls. The main centre, from where it is possible to admire the beautiful landscape with the enchanting designs that the river traces, offers a view over the fields, that according to strict procedures and specific times of the year, produces a special variety of onion and the Vernaccia, a vine, whose grapes are the main ingredient of a fine sweet red wine.
The area was founded by the Romans, but after the fall of the immense empire, it was invaded and sacked by the Lombards. In the XIII century, after the construction of a castle, fortified walls and watch towers, Cannara was proclaimed municipality and for a long period was contended between Assisi and Perugia, between the Guelphs and Ghibellines. In the mid XIV century, the town was incorporated into the Duchy of Spoleto and in the first half of the next century, it was ceded to the powerful family of the Baglioni of Perugia. who kept hold of the domain until 1648, when it passed to the Papal States until its annexation to the Kingdom of Italy in 1860.
- the XIV century Parish Church of San Giovanni has submitted several renovations over the centuries. It features a late XVI century wooden portal and inside preserves a famous XV century panel painted in tempera, by Alunno and his son Lattanzio;
- the Church of San Biagio in the late Romanesque style, which features a XIII century façade and a fine portal in stone from Assisi. Inside it presents a single nave plan and contains a painting of the late XVI century representing the Trinity with Saints;
- the XIV century Church of San Matteo, which was remodeled in the late XVIII century and features a superb triptych and a fine wooden statue of Our Lady of Sorrows;
- the Church of San Sebastian, now used as a municipal auditorium, built in 1184 and flanked by an XVIII century Bell Tower;
- the Church of San Francesco, built in the XV century, preserves inside near to the main altar, interesting statues of Saints;
- the Church of San Donato, which was built in 1667;
- the remains of Urvinum Hortense in the district of Collemancio;
- the Town Hall and the Civic Tower, both of the XV century;
- Palazzo Majolica-Landrini.