Municipality in the province of Perugia, located on the southern slopes of Mount Subasio, dominating the Umbra Valley, the town of Spello, surrounded by ancient fortified walls, still retains its medieval structure, with narrow winding streets, onto which face old stone houses with small gardens. The center also jealously guards the remains from Roman times, such as some sections of walls and the main gateway entrances known as "Consular" and "Venus".
The first settlement was founded by the Umbrians (an ancient Italic population) that were shortly after colonized by the Romans, who surrounded the main center with tall walls, which extended all along the hillside. Thanks to its proximity to the Via Flaminia, Spello became an important trading center and was proclaimed Municipium. Several testimonies evidence the development of this period, such as: the remains of a theater, a thermal bath and an amphitheater. In the Dark period of the Middle Ages, the town was annexed to the Duchy of Spoleto and is divided into three districts (Posterula, Borgo and Mezota). Initially to protect the old center, the ancient Roman walls were fortified, but when the urban core expanded, new walls were built, which still remain today. Spello was directly involved in several domain conflicts and submitted the rule of the Baglioni, the Michelotti and the Fortebraccio. At the end of the XVI century it was incorporated into the Papal States, and remained so, until the Unification of Italy.
- the church of Santa Maria Maggiore, built between the XII and XIII centuries and renovated in the XVII century, features a Romanesque Bell Tower surmounted by a spire and the Chapel of the Baglioni, decorated with frescoes by Pinturicchio and the Perugino;
- the Collegiate Church of San Lorenzo, built in XII century and transformed in 1540, still retains some features of the original façade, such as: a bas-relief and a series of mullioned windows. Inside are preserved several valuable artworks, that date back between the XV and XVIII centuries;
- the XIII century Church of St Andrew in Romanesque style, features a single nave plan with a double portal entrance and houses valuable frescoes, a painting and a wooden Crucifix painted by the Pinturicchio in the XIV century;
- the XII century Church of San Claudio in Romanesque style, which features three naves and is flanked by a Bell Tower;
- the Complex of Vallegloria, a church and a convent built in 1320;
- the Church of San Filippo, inside which is preserved an XVIII century masterpiece of the artist Piermarini;
- the XII century Romanesque Church of San Martino;
- the Church of San Severino;
- the Town Hall, in Gothic style, built in 1270 and houses the Archaeological Museum;
- the remains of a Roman Amphitheater and others of the Consular gateway;
- Porta Venere;
- Porta Urbica;
- the Belvedere