Cesenatico is a beautiful seaside resort in the province of Forlì-Cesena, halfway between Rimini and Ravenna, characterized by nearly seven miles of sandy coastline, wide avenues and green relaxing areas, picturesque squares and the atmosphere of a fishing village.
The city's origins date back to the XIV century, when here was founded a small port on the channel and a fortress was built, for its defense. The new settlement was erected near to the location of an old village, known as "Ad Novas" and indicated as a coach station on the ancient Roman itineraries. In 1502, Leonardo da Vinci, invited by Cesare Borgia, who wished to strengthen the fortress structures, designed the port of Cesenatico on his travel journal, the "Code L", at present preserved in Paris. In later centuries, especially in the XVIII century, the port of Cesenatico developed its fishing and trading activities. On August 02nd 1849, Giuseppe Garibaldi, with his wife Anita and two hundred followers, embarked from this port on 13 small fishing boats (bragozzi da pesca) to reach Venice under siege.
At the end of the XIX century, with the construction of a first equipped seaside establishment, the latest chapter of city's history had a beginning: in the thirties, Cesenatico, already had numerous hotels and seaside colonies and was recognized as a "resort" and since the end of World War II, it became one of the most famous resorts on the Adriatic Coast.
Sites of Interest:
- the charming old town centre, which has developed around the Channel Port designed by Leonardo;
- the Church of St. James, whose original structure dates from the XIV century, although it has undergone alterations over the centuries, especially during the XVIII century. Inside it preserves paintings by Guido Cagnacci, Francesco Milani, Francesco Andreini and Dominic Mantovani and two statues of Francis Callegari;
- the Church of the Convent of the Capuchin friars, whose construction dates back to 1611;
- the Maritime Museum, an exhibition of small fishing and commercial boats, as well as artifacts of traditional sailing; in the Summer, the boats of the museum feature the hoist of their colorful sails;
- the Antiquarian Hall, which houses archaeological finds that evidence the presence of the earliest Roman settlements in the area of Cesenatico;
- the Pinewood of Zadina, which extends for 3.5 hectares from near to the beach;
- the Park of Ponente, with its 13 hectares of land, planted with trees;
- the Archaeological Park of the Rocca, with the ruins of the castle restored in the early XIV century, built to defend the Channel Port.
- Casa Moretti, the birthplace of the writer Marino Moretti, which he bequeathed to the town of Cesenatico and in which are preserved original pieces of furniture and the numerous prints, some of his original texts and autograph cards;
- the Municipal Theater, one of the most beautiful in Romagna;
- Piazza Ciceruacchio, where bricks of different colors draw the perimeter of the Pretoria Tower, built in the late XVI century, to defend the port and destroyed by a British naval attack in 1809.