A charming town in the province of Rome, located in the area of the Castelli Romani, along the north-western side of the Alban Hills, Frascati is famous not only for its beautiful villas, but also for the production of a fine white wine, Frascati DOC.
Probably of Etruscan origin, Tusculum was subjected to the power of Rome, becoming soon, a resort for noble patricians, attracted by the beauty of the landscape. The town's current name derives from the use of "frasche" (branches) to cover the first shelters. In the XI century, Frascati was assigned to the family Conti, while in the XVI century it was ceded to the Colonna that, shortly thereafter, sold the estate to Pier Luigi Farnese, who, at his turn, sold it to the Camera Apostolica, ending the feudal period of Frascati. This gave way to a new period of social, cultural and economic development with the construction of several beautiful villas built by the noble Roman families.
Severely damaged by the heavy bombardments of World War, Frascati is one of the most stylish and popular centres of the Castelli Romani.
Sites of Interest:
- the ruins of Tusculum, an ancient Latin city founded, according to the local legends, by Telegono, son of Ulysses and Circe. Still visible are the walls, the theater, some villas (including the one of Cicero) and several tombs;
- the 12 Villas Tuscolane, built by the families of papal nobility in the XVI century, richly decorated by the most famous architects, sculptors and painters of the period. Designed as a place of representation and otium, with spectacular fountains and water features, as well as a beautiful park. The 12 Villas Tuscolane located between the town of Frascati and the nearby towns of Monte Porzio Catone and Grottaferrata are: Villa Aldobrandini, Villa Sora, Villa Torlonia, Villa Mondragone, Villa Falconieri, Villa Parisi, Villa Borghese, Villa Grazioli or Montalto, Villa Lancellotti, Villa Sciarra, Villa Muti, Villa Rufinella or Tuscolana;
- the Bishop's Palace, probably built at the same time of the castle, around which developed the original main center;
- the Tomb of Lucullus;
- St. Peter's Cathedral, badly damaged during the bombing of World War II, features a XVII century façade realized by the architect Gerolao Fontana. On the left hand side of the main portal is located the gravestone of Charles Edward Stuart;
- the Church and the Capuchin Monastery, built in 1575 under Pope Gregory XIII. The convent houses the Museum of Ethiopia;
- the Church of Jesus, designed by the Jesuit architect Giovanni De Rosis, inside which are preserved statues attributed to the artist Pietro da Cortona;
- the Park of the Ombrellino;
- the Fountain of Vanvitelli, designed by Luigi Vanvitelli in 1731;
- the Fountain of Piazza Paolo III.