Questo sito o gli strumenti terzi da questo utilizzati si avvalgono di cookie necessari al funzionamento ed utili alle finalità illustrate nella cookie policy. Se vuoi saperne di più o negare il consenso a tutti o ad alcuni cookie, consulta la cookie policy. Chiudendo questo banner, scorrendo questa pagina, cliccando su un link o proseguendo la navigazione in altra maniera, acconsenti all'uso dei cookie.




  • Terre Stregate Winery

    Terre Stregate Winery

    Wine Farm, quality wines, sannio doc, falanghina, greco di Tufo, aglianico, sparkling wines, fiano igt, Extravirgin oil mill,...

  • Pineta 1903

    Pineta 1903

    Restaurant Lounge Bar Wine Bar Lemon Garden Beer Pub Brasserie Maiori Amalfi Coast Salerno Campania Italy

  • Nonna Orsola Cooking School Amalfi Coast

    Nonna Orsola Cooking School Amalfi Coast

    Italian Gastronomy Cooking Class Ravello Amalficoast Neapolitan Riviera Salerno Campania Italy

  • Relais Bella Baia B & B Maiori

    Relais Bella Baia B & B Maiori

    Holiday Famhouse Rooms Bed and Breakfast Apartments Accommodation Neapolitan Riviera Cannaverde Maiori Amalficoast Salerno Campania...

  • Hotel Villa Maria Ravello

    Hotel Villa Maria Ravello

    Charming 4 Stars Hotel Accommodation Relais Exclusive Events and Weddings Ravello Amalficoast Neapolitan Riviera Salerno Campania...

you are here: Home Campania Benevento Surroundings Guardia Sanframondi

More About

Here you can find info and tips about the area you are visiting.

Most viewed in Guardia Sanframondi

  • Terre Stregate Winery

    "Terre Stregate" has always been one of the more notable and renowned oil and wine-producing businesses present in the Beneventano region, today it has become a new business reality. To emerge above what it was in the past it has taken on a new location...

Print this page Send to a friend by e-mail


Guardia Sanframondi


Guardia Sanframondi is a Medieval town in the province of Benevento, located on the side of a high hill covered by vineyards and olive groves.
The area was inhabited since ancient times, as many findings dating back to the Paleolithic period reveal; later it could has been a Samnite or Roman military outpost, due to its strategic position. The place name derives from the French family of Sanframondo who had in fief Cerreto and other nearby towns, included Guardia, in the XII century.
The urban settlement was built around the castle, built in 1139 by the Norman Raone, founder of the Sanframondo family; later the fief passed to Della Marra family, returning to the Sanframondo family until 1483; subsequently to the Carafa family until the end of feudalism in 1806.

Sites of interest:
- the Medieval historical center, one of the most evoative of the whole Samnite area; unfortunately it was seriously damaged after the earthquake of 1980;
- the castle, built in 1139 by the Norman Raone Sanframondo; it was recently refurbished becoming the cultural center of the town;
- the 4 gates to the town (Porta Francesca, Porta dell'Olmo, Porta di Santo and Porta Ratella);
- the Sanctuary of Assunta (XVII century), in Baroque style, has a simple façade and valuable stuccos inside. It has Latin cross plan with three naves and transept.
- the Church of San Sebastiano, built in the XVI century, was refurbished in Baroque style in the following years; inside there are valuable painting by Di Matteis and other important Neapolitan artists;
- the Church of San Rocco, characterized by an octagonal plan form, was built in 1515 in thanksgiving for the end of the plague. Currently it cannot be visited for the damages after the earthquake of 1980.
- the Convent of San Francesco, built in the XVII century, today in a state of abandoned decay;
- the Church of San Leonardo, built in 1523, in a state of abandoned decay;
- the noble palaces;
- public wash houses and fountains;
- Monte Ciesco faunal oasis;
- the Wine Museum;
- the Civic Museum.


This town web page has been visited 40,356 times.

Choose language