The town's name derives from the presence in the neighborhood of a stone bridge, which made possible the passage of the Via Latina linking Rome to Benevento. Municipality in the province of Benevento, located where the stream Alenta flows into the river Calore, north of the massif of the Taburno, Ponte is a renowned center for the production of oil and wine.
The discovery of remains of Neolithic and Iron Age attest the presence of settlements since prehistoric times. The discovery of a tomb dating from the VII century B.C. evidence that near Ponte, there was a Samnite settlement. The presence of the Roman bridge, which gives the village its name, and the ancient Roman road ascertain that the area was under the control of Empire. The current town centre dates from the early Middle Ages: it is attested that the Lombard Prince Pandolfo granted the center to the Monastery of San Lupo and Zosimus. In the XIII century, Ponte was scenario of clashes between Swabian and Angevin troops. Throughout its history it was ruled by several feudal families, such as: the Fenucci, the Sanframondo and the Sarriano. For a period assigned to the Molise, in the first half of the XIX century, Ponte was incorporated into the municipality of Casalduni, at first, and then of Paupisi. It regained its autonomy in 1913.
- the Church of the Most Holy Rosary, in neo-Classical style, which was built in the XVI century and has submitted, over the centuries, several renovations, which however, have not altered much the original structure. The simple façade is surmounted by a pediment, while the massive Bell Tower is incorporated into the structure and is divided into quadrants by horizontal cornices. Inside there is an abundance of gilt gold decorative elements and it houses a valuable wooden crucifix, an XVIII century wooden statue and a plate with an embossed decoration of the XVI century;
- the XI century Abbey of St. Anastasia, probably built on the remains of a Roman villa. Over the centuries it has submitted several renovations and additions, which destroyed in 1934, have been recently restored. Built in stone, it features a single nave plan and inside preserves several valuable frescoes, unfortunately not all intact;
- the Chapel of Saint Dionigi;
- the remains of the XI century Castle, which was the scenario of several clashes between Hohenstaufen and Anjou troops in the second half of the XIII century.