The origins of the town's name have been subject of study of several different schools of thought: for some it derives from the Latin "pagus pisus" (village in the lowlands), for others, from the Roman person's name "Palpius". It is a municipality in the province of Benevento, located on the northern slope of Mount San Menna, close to the Taburno mountain chain, in the upper Telesina Valley, crossed the river Calore. The old town centre is characterized by typical medieval stone houses, narrow alleys, arches and picturesque spots. Paupisi is also known for the production of olive oil and fine wines, such as Aglianico, Falanghina and Coda di Volpe.
The discovery of Roman remains in the area attest the presence of settlements since the ancient times. During the medieval period the town belonged to the nearby town of Torrecuso and shared its fate and fortunes. Over the centuries the town submitted the domain of different feudal noble families, such as: the Frangipane, the Della Leonessa, the Caracciolo, the Ceva Grimaldi and the Dukes of Sangro, who ruled the territory until the abolition of the feudal system. United to the town of Ponte, Paupisi regained its autonomy in 1913.
- the Church of Our Lady of the Pagans, which is a simple building, built entirely of stone, with a single nave plan. The simple façade is broken only by the portal finished in stone and an arched window. Similar windows can be found on each side of the interior with a circular opening placed up high. On the gable roof finds its location a simple Bell Tower. The church has been recently restored;
- the Church of Santa Maria del Bosco;
- the Chapel of the Sacred Heart;
- the Civic Tower;
- the ornamental Fountain of the Ornia;
- the historic center.