Town in the province of Chieti, the name derives from the ancient name of one of its districts, Rissogna, currently called Fraia, and due to the fact that the area was inhabited by several families of bears (animal, among others, also present in the municipal coat of arms). The town was ruled by the families of Orsini and Colonna (XIV century), until it was destroyed by a terrible earthquake in 1881 and subsequently by the bombings of World War II.
Not to miss:
- the Church of St. Nicholas, an XVIII century building with the adjacent tower. From the viewpoint, located just opposite the church, it is possible to admire a wonderful panorama over the entire Fraja Valley, characterized by numerous "calanchi" and the imposing massif of the Majella.
- the Tower Di Bene, fortified rural construction, built between the XVI and the XVII centuries, it became an important cultural center in the XIX century;
- the Chapel of San Bernardino, recently restored, the original place of worship attended by the pastors of transhumance;
- the Park of Remembrance (1926) in which are commemorated the dead of the First World War and the War in Spain;
- the Convent of the Annunciation, built in 1448 by Giovanni da Capistrano, with frescoes of the XVII century.